Why and How to Hide Articles you Read on Facebook and Other App Activity



Are you a social animal? Do you like to post everything on Facebook? What you do, when you do, how you do… No? Nobody ‘likes’ it, seriously!

But do you realize when you click “sign up with Facebook” button on other websites, you authorize those websites to put anything on your timeline? Some news sites are using this feature to promote their articles. They post what you read as soon as you click on a link – every single activity of yours on the website.

hide articles you read on facebook and other app activity

The truth is, these social media sites have integrated so deeply with other apps and sites that sometimes the most conscious people don’t realize that their friends are able to see what you are doing around the web. Personally, I don’t see any advantage of this. It can, sometimes, cause serious effects. Suppose you’re reading news on a blog, then you try to navigate to another article but somehow (accidentally) you end up clicking on some other link around it, which is not suitable to be posted on your profile (yes, it happens very often).

One more example, and very common. If you keep the “remember me next time” check box checked, you’re in a serious trouble! Even if somebody else use your computer to browse the web, and coincidentally open the same website you’ve authorized to post to Facebook – then whatever he/she will do will be shared on ‘your’ account. Not everyone is as clean as you. So, why not stop all the mess once and for all?

Also Read: YouTube Technology Channels – Must Watch

Tip: If you see an article on your Facebook feed, you don’t want to miss. But when you click the link, it asks you to allow some app to post to your profile. In that case, if you grant the permissions – you’re doomed. The best thing you can do is, copy the title and paste it on Google. You’ll get the exact link (in most of the cases) WITHOUT any need to grant any permissions!

article read

Solution:

A very simple, and effective solution is delete the apps which have permissions to share on your timeline without confirmation. This might not be possible in every situation, so I’ve suggested some other solutions as well. Just follow these instructions to get your account under your control.

  1. Log-in to your Facebook account (but you’re already logged in, don’t you?).
    Step 1
  2. Click the arrow at the top-right corner, just after home button and select Privacy Settings.
    step 2
  3. Scroll down and click “edit settings” after “Ads, Apps and Websites” label.
    step 3
  4. This is the place where you can control everything the apps do or have the potential to do with your profile. Although you can discover the relevant settings yourself, but I’m going to guide you through some must-check settings.
    step 4
  5. If you want to act aggressive, you can turn off all apps at once. You won’t be able to use any app, plugins, etc. after this. I won’t recommend this, unless you know what you’re doing, because it will turn off even the few ‘useful’ applications and features.
    step 5
  6. If you didn’t follow the above step, and you want to turn off apps individually click on “Edit settings” after “Apps you use” label.
    step 6
  7. Here, you can see the list of all the apps associated with your account. Click “edit” to see more details and what the app can do with your account. Delete any suspicious apps and the ones you don’t use.
    step 7
  8. If there is any app which you don’t want to remove, but you want to hide what it share on your profile, click edit and set the privacy settings (Who can see posts this app makes for you on your Facebook timeline?) to “Only me”. This is useful for applications you use to login to other sites.
    step 8
  9. Whoa! You have a spam-free clean Facebook profile now. Brag about it!
    step 9

Did you find this helpful? I bet you did! Don’t forget to share this with your friends, specially with those who post spam very frequently. Tell them to hide articles you read on Facebook, just keep your things in a different box, don’t mix-up everything.